Posted August 10th, 2016 by Bluestone & Hockley Attorneys: https://www.bluestonehockley.com/quickfacts-clarifying-oregons-rent-increase-restrictions
Many of our readers have expressed confusion over when a landlord can raise rent in Oregon anymore. Specifically, they have asked us for help understanding how month-to-month rent increases should be handled after House Bill 4143 amended the Oregon Landlord Tenant Act.
John D. asked, “The new restrictions prohibit a rent increase within the first 12 months of a month-to-month lease. After the first 12 months have passed, how frequently can I increase rents thereafter?”
Along the same lines, Sarah K. asked, “I usually let my leases convert into a month-to-month after one year. After an annual lease converts into a month-to-month, when can I raise the rent and still be in compliance with the new law? Can I raise it at any time because a year has gone by or does the clock reset because the lease defaulted into a month-to-month term?”
To answer these questions, we asked our attorneys, specialists in the Landlord Tenant Act, for some clarification.
Though they advised us that the bill placed no restriction of how often a landlord can raise rent after the first year of a month-to-month tenancy, which is good news for John and others in his situation, Sarah’s question brought out the grey area of the recent bill.
Due to the ambiguous language of the bill, the question of when to raise rents after an annual lease converts to month-to-month is up for interpretation. Therefore, the only way for a landlord to safely interpret the language of HB 4143 is to assume that the clock resets upon rollover into month-to-month.
READ MORE: QuickFacts - When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Oregon.pdf